Melting Faces and Taking Names

I really just wanted to name this post ‘An Ode to Alex Brightman’ but 1. That was way too forward and 2. He already knows how awesome he is (I hope so anyway). I digress though because over at the Winter Garden Theater I had my face shredded to PIECES when I saw “School of Rock-The Musical”. Okay let me start off by just saying, these kids are incredible, THIS SHOW is out of this world and I saw more energy in Alex Brightman than I would in an energizer bunny. The dude was jumping off desks and bopping around like a jumping bean. I mean COME ON.

I originally went to this show for my little sister who I thought would love it which she did, however I didn’t expect myself to have the experience I did in that theater (I think I had more fun than her). What they’re doing over at the Winter Garden is something magical. Alex Brightman, I am speechless I cannot say enough of all the wonderful things that has already been said about him as a person and his performance. You can tell just by his enthusiasm, energy and presence with those kids that he is in this business because he LOVES it.

The kids, my GOD those kids are something else, so talented and they are literally having the time of their lives on stage. I wish I could turn back the clock __ years and do what they’re doing if I could. Its actually insane, Isabella Russo (Summer) is nailing it in her role she gives it her own flare and sass to the character she’s so wonderfully created for the stage. Can I just talk about the end note she hits in her song “Time to Play”? SLAY GIRL. To add to that, I honestly didn’t even think they were playing their own instruments but jokes on me when I found out those kids actually PLAY (it took me a few to catch on oops). I was amazed to say the least.

Sierra Boggess is killing it as per usual, I’ve seen her play ingénue many times and seeing her have comedic moments and to see her do a complete 360 of personalities was so awesome it killed me at some moments. Her chemistry with Alex is like they’re the odd couple so funny and organic, I loved every second of their scenes together, (especially in the bar).

Back to Mr. Brightman for a sec, you sir (Im talking as if I know you) are freaking incredible, you deserve every ounce of praise and accolade from this role because it is nothing short of incredible what you do each night. Thank you for even being so kind, friendly and signing my sisters playbill, your show was her first stage door experience and she will still talk about it to this day how awesome you were (the playbill is in a frame for God sake). I sincerely hope you keep doing what you’re doing forever (I mean you’re doing this for a reason right?!?!) your talent, kindness and passion knows no bounds. You’re giving a powerhouse performance that deserves the recognition its been given because it is in no means easy but you sure as hell make it look like it. Thank you for being a class act.

I cannot wait to get my face shredded, torn off, melted and whatever other words I can use to say how hard this show rocked my world, again soon.

 

Leave a comment